top of page

RSVP to PAA's Annual Cocktail Dinner Benefitting the Parkinson Association of Alabama

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Please join us for a Cocktail Dinner benefitting the Parkinson Association of Alabama and in memory of Nancy Stetler on Tuesday, November 15, 2022 at 6pm. This year's event will be hosted at OvenBird (2819 3rd Avenue - Birmingham, AL 35233). A live auction that includes many wonderful vacations will also be conducted.

Each year since 2008, the PAA has hosted this premier event to generate funds for UAB's Pre-Doctoral Scholar program. Parkinson's disease has greatly affected our families and friends. This evening allows us to celebrate our loved ones while raising funds to support Parkinson's disease research underway at UAB.

Due to the success of last year's dinner, the PAA was able to provide funding for the 2021 Doctoral Scholar at the UAB Center for Neurodegeneration and Experimental Therapeutics for William Jay Stone. Thanks to the generous support of attendees, Jay was able to work with Dr. Standaert to understand the impact of pesticides in Parkinson's disease, with a focus on how pesticides disrupt the ability of 14-3-3 proteins to prevent protein misfolding in Parkinson's disease.

This year, Dr. Standaert has identified Jhodi Webster at the 2022 PAA Pre-Doctoral Scholar. Jhodi is a 3rd year PhD student who was born and raised in Kingston, Jamaica. As part of the Neuroscience Research at UAB, she joined Ashley Harms' lab in 2021. Jhodi's research focuses on how the presence of aggregated alpha-synuclein, beta-amyloid and tau copathologies contribute to neuroinflammation in Parkinson's disease. She is passionate about this project because of its potential to elucidate new therapeutic avenues for the disease. With the completion of her predoctoral training, she hopes to contribute to translational research in targeting PD.

Please join us to meet Jhodi Webster and one of our nation's leading Parkinson's experts and UAB Neurology Department Chairman, Dr. David Standaert. Previous PAA Pre-Doctoral Scholar Recipients have included:

  • 2021, William Jay Stone

  • 2020, Casey Mahoney

  • 2019, Nicole Gallups

  • 2018, Greg Williams

  • 2017, Aubrey Schonohoff

  • 2016, Kaela Kelly

  • 2015, Rachel Underwood

  • 2014, Lindsay Stoyka

  • 2012 & 2013, Aaron Thome

  • 2010 & 2011, Heather Allen Reish

  • 2008 & 2009, Shuwen Cao

This event is hosted by:

  • Louise and John Beard

  • Maggie and Will Brooke

  • Stacy and Brian Corbett

  • Idie and Chris Hastings

  • Robby and Leah Hazzard

  • Teri and Hank Henley

  • Alice Major

  • Carol and Rusty Stewart

  • Christina Van Der Hulst and Scott Recchio

Due to limited seating, kindly reply to Lindsay McKellar at 1.833.473.5465, ext 1., or no later than Friday, October 28th. Please be prepared to provide your name and how many will be attending the dinner with you, and your email address or contact information. The suggested minimum donation per person is $500. You may pay by credit card and register online HERE.

We hope you can join us!


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page